The Lakes Region Planning Commission (LRPC) is a non-profit, voluntary association of municipalities located within one of the 9 state-defined regional planning areas. LRPC members pool their resources to obtain a highly trained professional staff to provide a wide variety of comprehensive planning services to meet the diverse needs of New Hampshire's Lakes Region. Our mission is to provide effective planning in order to achieve and sustain a quality environment, dynamic economy, and local cultural values by supporting community efforts through leadership, education, technical assistance, information, advocacy, coordination, and responsive representation.

Our region covers 31 communities across 4 counties, with 30 active member towns/cities:

Alexandria, Andover, Ashland, Barnstead, Belmont, Bridgewater, Bristol, Center Harbor, Danbury, Effingham, Franklin, Freedom, Gilford, Gilmanton, Hebron, Hill, Holderness, Laconia, Meredith, Moultonborough, New Hampton, Northfield, Ossipee, Plymouth, Sanbornton, Sandwich, Tamworth, Tilton, Tuftonboro, and Wolfeboro.


The Commission was created in 1968 and recognized by the State of New Hampshire as an official regional planning commission in 1970. It is governed by Commissioners nominated by the Planning Boards of member communities and appointed by their governing bodies (select boards and city councils). A 12-member Executive Board, elected from the full Commission, provides overall policy direction and guidance and oversees the LRPC's financial affairs.