About Us

The Lakes Region Planning Commission (LRPC)  is a non-profit, voluntary association of local communities who pool their resources to obtain a highly-trained professional staff to provide a wide variety of services.

Our region consists of 30 towns and cities:
Alexandria, Andover, Ashland, Barnstead, Belmont, Bridgewater, Bristol, Center Harbor, Danbury, Effingham, Franklin, Freedom, Gilford, Gilmanton, Hebron, Hill, Holderness, Laconia, Meredith, Moultonborough, New Hampton, Northfield, Ossipee, Plymouth, Sanbornton, Sandwich, Tamworth, Tilton, Tuftonboro, and Wolfeboro.

The Commission was created in 1968 and recognized by the State of New Hampshire as an official regional planning commission in 1970.  It is governed by a board of 50 Commissioners, nominated by the planning boards of member communities. A 12 member Executive Board, elected from the full Board of Commissioners, provides overall policy direction and guidance, and oversees the LRPC's financial affairs.